Husbands Love Your Wives

I never new what a good husband and father looked like. My dad left when I was 2 and my mother choose a man who was an alcoholic for many years before he sobered up. I wish I had been able to experience that genuine God lead view of marriage growing up. It’s OK if you did not have this like myself, because through out Heavenly Father we have a view.

The Bible says gives a definition of love and how we as Husbands are love their wives.

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish. In the same way husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, – Ephesians 5:25-30

I know that as men we can get focused on the “wives submit to your husbands” part and overlook that we have a taller order to fill in our roles as husbands. Is there anything in life you love more than your wife besides God? Let me ask a different way. Is there anything or anyone that you show more attention to or care for than your wife? Can your wife honestly say she is loved, cherished and adored?

Remember that even though Eve sinned 1st, God held Adam accountable for it. I pray that this will encourage and bless someone.

Leave a comment